중립
이벤트

마법.

비용: –.
테스트 아이콘:

세피나 루소 덱 전용.

이 카드는 ‘세피나 루소’ 밑에 놓을 수 없습니다.

‘그림 속 세계’를 ‘세피나 루소’ 밑에 있지만 ‘특별’ 키워드가 없는 이벤트 카드 1장의 사본인 것처럼 플레이합니다. ‘그림 속 세계’를 버리는 대신 게임에서 제거합니다.

Andreia Ugrai
카르코사로 가는 길 #12.
그림 속 세계
FAQs (taken from the official FAQ or FFG's responses to the official rules question form)
  • The Painted World vs Delve Too Deep: Whenever a card leaves play, any lasting or delayed effects affecting the card while it was in play expire (see Leaves Play, RR, page 14). That includes The Painted World being treated as a copy of another card; as soon as The Painted World leaves play, it ceases to be a copy and goes back to just being The Painted World. Since the victory display is an out of play area, you could play The Painted World as a copy of Delve Too Deep, but as soon as it got added to the victory display it would cease to be a copy of Delve Too Deep and would go back to being The Painted World, thus losing its victory points.

  • The Painted World vs Fast cards (such as Elusive or Ward of Protection): The Painted World is "played as a copy” of an event, which means if that event is fast, The Painted World will also be fast, and if that event has a play restriction or trigger (like “Play after blah blah blah”), The Painted World would also have that same restriction or trigger if played as a copy of that event.

  • Q: Can you use Uncage the Soul on The Painted World when it's copying a non-Spell-traited card under Sef? A: You can use Uncage the Soul to play The Painted World from your hand (regardless of whether or not the card you are copying has the Spell trait). Uncage the Soul allows you to play a Spell or Ritual card from your hand, reducing its resource cost by 3. Since The Painted World is still a Spell at the time you are choosing a card to play using Uncage the Soul, you can choose The Painted World as its target. Then, as soon as you begin the sequence of actually playing the card (including checking play restrictions and determining the card’s cost) The Painted World becomes a copy of whatever card you are choosing to play it as (in this case, Hot Streak or Backstab or whatever other card you want to copy).

  • Q: How does The Painted World interact with Crystallizer of Dreams, as they both replace the discard effect? A: "Both effects are replacement effects, and since The Painted World’s replacement effect is forced and Crystallizer of Dreams is optional, the forced effect would take priority and resolves first. Therefore The Painted World must be removed from the game after it is played and cannot be placed underneath Crystallizer of Dreams."

  • Q: Double, Double vs The Painted World. I imagine The Painted World cannot be played twice by Double, Double, since it's removed from the game, but can the copied event be played twice? A: You can absolutely use Double, Double to play The Painted World twice. Note that it says you play it “as if it were in your hand,” so each time you played it in this way, you could choose a different event beneath Sefina Rousseau. Keep in mind this may not work with some events (such as events that become attachments or go to a specific play area) as you only actually have one physical copy of The Painted World to move around.

Last updated
Reviews

In 1924, MGM was founded with the slogan “ars gratia artis.” (By 1932, it also had the slogan “more stars than there are in the heavens”). The signature card of Rousseau is the opposite: art that can stand for anything.

The painted world is an intriguing card because unlike most signatures, it gets directly more powerful with every release. It doesn’t have to combo with anything because it becomes Rogue, Mystic or neutral events.

It also allows ridiculousness, like playing “ You owe me one” four to nine different times and building a deck entirely out of other peoples stuff. (One time from your deck, three times from underneath Sefina, one time when you draw it from underneath, and then Quantum Flux so you can both back, twice.) And it allows you to become the second richest character, edging out Preston with repeats of Faustian bargain and hot streak.

The trade-off is that you’re building a larger deck with Sefina, so you’ll need to find a way to your paintings out. Arcane initiate is a good one, and can be Sacrificed to get more cards. That’s gratitude in the art world.

But the belle of the ball might be double double. It’s what separates the painter from all the other level five capable mystics. Unfortunately, it cost 8XP, four bucks, takes an arcane slot, and you only get one of them in your deck because it’s exceptional. It’s worth it. With it, your sneak attacks do two damage, twice. Your contraband can quadruple an ally’s ammo or supplies. (Infinite chainsaws become a possibility.) Gain $14 with one action and hot streak...Up to six times, assuming you use your painted world only for that combo.

With ridiculous amounts of money, anything is possible. Have an ally give you Charles Ross and fund the team’s Everything. (Although frankly this is easier to do with Jenny Barnes; She can take him as part of her five wildcards.) Run Lola and get a clue a turn for the rest of the game, Or crush foes with Delilah O’Rourke.

Double storm of souls to clear out rooms, even ridiculously crowded ones. But even before that, there’s a lot of fun to be had with the painted world. It gives you a tremendous amount of flexibility, between evasion, economy, attacks, team actions, or dealing with the encounter deck.

Ars longa, vita brevis.

MrGoldbee · 1085
How does 1+3+1=6? — Death by Chocolate · 835
Oops — MrGoldbee · 1085
Its now up to 9. :) — MrGoldbee · 1085
Speaking of YOMO, you could YOMO Dayana to get extra uses out of TPW. — Zinjanthropus · 165
Expensive but wild! — MrGoldbee · 1085
I just have a quick rules question, when this is used to copy the [upgraded Pilfer](/card/60328), does it come back to hand at the end of the turn if you succeeded by 2 or more? I am assuming not, since the painted world's text to remove it from the game would stop it from recursing. — jonklin · 510
The Delve Too Deep ruling suggests it can't come back to hand with the Pilfer effect. The word you're looking for is recur, btw. — Katsue · 8
The Delve Too Deep ruling only states that the card would return to being TPW and lose it's victory point. The comparative situation with Pilfer is that it would return to your hand and then go back to being TPW, which is exactly what you want. It sounds to me like it would work with the current rulings. — mrjake1424 · 1
I take it back. I see now that since Pilfer says "at the end of your turn" rather than "instead of discarding" that it doesn't work. — mrjake1424 · 1