- Q: Can Michael McGlen take Grizzled if he chooses "firearm" as its trait? Can he upgrade Friends in Low Places up to level 5 if he chooses "firearm" as its trait? The Customizable rules imply that the chosen trait is treated as being present in the text box of the card and therefore makes these cards eligible for Michael McGlen’s deck building. A: Michael McGlen can’t take Grizzled in his deck. The traits recorded on Grizzled must be present on at least one encounter card. Michael McGlen can upgrade Friends in Low Places to level 5 if he chooses “Firearm” for its trait. Unlike Grizzled, Friends in Low Places is designed to interact with player cards. And yes, purchased upgrades are considered to be part of the card they’re upgrading; the chosen trait is considered present on Friends in Low Places. (Ruling, April 2025)
- Q: For the newly released Gatling Gun, can you clarify how this works with Daring. Specifically, Daring says it can only be committed in an attack or evade test against "an enemy", but Gatling Gun targets all enemies at your location. I take it as there is an enemy in the wider group, this is okay to commit? As a second question, and assuming Daring is okay to commit, would all enemies in the group gain Retaliate or just one nominated enemy? A: As a Fight action, Gatling Gun’s ability initiates against a single targeted enemy; from there, the ability alters the standard difficulty calculation and damage distribution of the attack. You may commit Daring to Gatling Gun’s Fight ability, and when you do, the single targeted enemy you initiated the attack against is the one to gain the retaliate and alert keywords for the duration of the skill test. (Ruling, April 2025)
- Q: I have question about scenario the Longest Night (Hemlock Vale campaign) and location barn: " When Barn is revealed: Place the set-aside Ajax story asset at this location ([codex] Ω)." What if this location is revealed during setup? Can I trigger this reaction? According RAW I can't but in this case Ajax would be lost, so I wonder if this will an exception in this situation and I could trigger this reaction during setup. A: The reaction ability on Barn should be a Forced ability instead; it was not the intention that Ajax be unobtainable if the location is revealed during setup. (We recognize that Ajax technically isn’t “set aside” at that step, but even so he can still be placed at Barn at this time.) (Ruling, April 2025)
- Q: Does intention of ability of this card: " When Mine Cart moves, spend 1 switch: Either cancel the move, or move an additional time" is that you decide do you want to move additional time before you move (before you will reveal the location) or you decide to move additional time after you move (after you reveal location). In this case ability should read: "when mine cart move spend 1 switch to cancel the move, or after mine cart move spend 1 switch to move additional time." A: If you wish to trigger the reaction ability on Mine Cart, you must choose whether or not to spend a switch before Mine Cart moves and before the location it moves to is revealed. (Ruling, April 2025)
Q: I believe that the term "draw" as a trigger has been ruled to only apply to the main player deck. Since that ruling, we've gotten more sources of side decks, so I'm curious: If I have Geas in play: 1) Is drawing from Underworld Market "drawing"? 2) Ancestral Knowledge? 3) Using Katja Eastbank's > ability? 4) If Ikiaq leaves play, is that a "draw" for Geas? 5) I think it's been previously ruled no, but is drawing an encounter card (Delve Too Deep, Drawn to the Flame, etc) a 'draw' for Geas? A: If you have Geas in play and make the promise to “not draw” during each of your turns, you can’t draw a card from any deck or source. Each of the cards you mentioned has you “draw” a card from a deck, from beneath another card, or that was attached to another card; each counts against Geas’ promise. (Ruling, May 2025)