Henry Wan

With the combination Wendy's Amulet and Premonition, which forebodes every token and thus prevents Henry Wan to miss, you'll get on average 2.67 resources/cards on his action (with the starting-standard NotZ chaos bag). It is versatile as you can avoid the overdraw and choose what you lack most, even upgrade a Dark Horse deck; but it is unreliable, as you basically toss a dice to know how much you earn.

I feel like making his ability a trigger or even "when you are about to draw a card or gain a resource" would make it funnier and yet not broken.

Spending action for this effect feels wrong.

You can't play Premonition in the middle of resolving Henry's ability, since there's no action window. — Thatwasademo · 59
Indeed you're right. So, knowing your first token, and if you somehow always knew when to stop (as every AH player), you could expect on average 2.67 resources on the action. Still not worth the risk. — LeFricC'estChic · 86
Joey "The Rat" Vigil

Fast - I play Switchblade - lost 1 resource. => Fast - I attach Well-Maintained - lost 0 resource. => Fast - Discard Switchblade - Return it to my hand - Gain 2 resource. => Do Fast again and again => I'm billionaire. => Serious Errors in the game.

huybn9493 · 1
Well Maintained doesn't bounce itself. It returns each other upgrade attached to the card to your hand, but goes to the discard pile. Also there's a million ways to break the game; it's not a competition, so why do we care? — SGPrometheus · 858
A game having a broken combo doesn’t mean the entire game is broken- taboo hits a lot of them, and the remainder you can just choose not to play. All such ways require very specific builds in specific gators, and all of them require XP to my knowledge. If you can’t accept that, then this may not be the game for you. — StyxTBeuford · 13083
and like SGPrometheus said, it's not working anyway. I don't like people accusing the game of "Serious Errors" if they didn`t even read the cards correctly — niklas1meyer · 1
Fast - you play switchblade - lost 1 resource. => fast - you attach well maintained - lost 1 resource. => fast - discard well maintained and return switchblade to your hand. - gain 2 resources. => don't do it again, do it again to a maximum of two times, because you only have one more copy of well maintained. Congratz, you spend 5 XP, 4 cards and 4 resources to fain 6 resources. wow! Much Combo! — PowLee · 15
So can you use his ability to play a card in any player free action window? It doesn’t explicitly say during your turn, but I am assuming because it say ‘play’ you can only do it during your turn? Or can you play yr newly drawn Tennessee Sour Mash in the mythos phase? — gazzagames · 7
Moon Pendant

This card doesn't say its effects only applies to YOUR tarot cards, just that the hand portion only applies to your hand. While players without a Moon Pendant wouldn't be able to commit Tarots from their hand (as they would have no icons while in their hand), every player would get the benefit of each other's Moon Pendants while a Tarot card is committed. In a 4 player game you could have everyone run a copy, and with all 4 out, every Tarot card would have 8 wild icons. Or, using Relic Hunter, if each player has two Moon Pendants, each Tarot card would have a whopping 16 wild icons. Which seems....pretty good.

I doubt this is intended, and you'd need multiple packs without using proxies, but if you wanted a fun cheesy multiplayer buildaround, this could be it!

Neofalcon · 24
Check out "You/ Your" in the RR. This effect falls into: — Susumu · 385
(forgot again: you shall not <Enter> in these comments) Any other instance of "you/your" that does not fall into the above categories refers to the investigator who controls the card, the investigator who has the card in his/her threat area, or who is currently interacting with the card. --> Only the symbols from the card controlled by you are applied. — Susumu · 385
This section of the FAQ does not apply to cards committed to skill tests, as there is no "You/Your" for that part - only for cards in your hand. The only "your" is applying to cards in your hand, which is what I was pointing out with my original comment. "Each non-weakness Tarot asset committed to a skil test gains ??" is a global effect. — Neofalcon · 24
"Moon Pendant" is a card you control, and therefore only you can use it. Even "Shortcut" (2) was erratat, because RAW only the investigator who controls the card could use it while attached to a location. — Susumu · 385
If I remember correctly, the limit of having the ?s on tarots in your hand effectively prevents anybody else from using it anyway, as you can't commit a card unless it has relevant pips to begin with. In fact, I'm wagering the main reason for "in your hand" is to make it possible to commit tarots in the first place? — HanoverFist · 774
Reading as written, the you/your portion applies to adding “??” To tarot cards in your hand; while the adding “??” to committed tarrot cards applies to any Tarrot cards committed. So if all (4) investigators had this item, committed tarot cards would gain “????????” while committed. As for the Shortcut Eratta, the rules normally prevent you from activating/exhausting items controlled by other investigators except for cards in their Threat Zone; so to allow other played to exhaust shortcut it needed an eratta/clarification. In this case, the other investigators are not “using” the pendant, the pendant is passively applying “??” to tarot cards committed to tests. — darkernectron · 8
The Truth Beckons

"This card is no Shortcut," says the previous review.

"True," I say. "it's better." :-)

In Innsmouth, this card got me across entire maps, cheaply. It enabled to us to win the final scenario with a 7 location move in one action. Shortcut? I'd have been doing a fast stroll to get to that place.

Note: it is situational. You need big maps. And multiplayer might help. That scenario winning final move? My team-mates cleared the way to the final location, enabling the move to the final location.

acotgreave · 925
The trick with this will always be that Shortcut is fast and this isn’t, so you need to at least move two spaces to make it even equivalent to Shortcut. But yes, big maps definitely exist in this game and I like this card anyway for anyone wanting to get near an enemy. Trish and Tony both love being near enemies. — StyxTBeuford · 13083
Body of a Yithian

As investigators work differently they can be handled differently.

  • Duke is in the deck, not in play.
  • Preston's permanent is in play.
  • Joe has an unusable hunch deck and Diana has Dark Insight in her hand as those are deckbuilding requirements.
  • Sefina draws 13 cards and Lola chooses a role.

I've asked specifically about Sefina for this and the official answer is here:

Generally speaking, unless otherwise noted, scenario setup occurs during step 10 of setup (see: “Appendix III: Setting Up the Game” in the Rules Reference), whereas Sefina’s ability triggers when you would draw your opening hand, which happens in step 8. There are a few steps specifically in City of Archives that occur before this step (such as removing unique items and Alejandro), but everything else in the setup happens at the normal timing, during step 10. This means that Sefina will have already triggered her ability to draw 13 cards, place 5 events beneath her, etc. (This is why the Body of a Yithian rules explicitly say that cards that were placed beneath your investigator are placed beneath Body of a Yithian!)

vidinufi · 69
There is now an official answer that says that Duke does start in play. Lily's disciplines also start in play. See https://arkhamdb.com/card/04237 — MindControlMouse · 50