Studious

If you have two of these, does that mean you draw 7 cards during setup step 8? So you could potentially draw another 7 during a mulligan?

This is filling text to meet the 200 characters prerequisite. This is filling text to meet the 200 characters prerequisite.

Django · 5171
The card is non-unique and not exceptional, so you could buy two of them. — Daerthalus · 16
And, due to the wording, running two copies means you would start each game with 2 additional cards in your opening hand. — Daerthalus · 16
Is it just me, or does the guy in the art look a little like Lovecraft...? — cb42 · 38
It’s Gilman. — Kozz84 · 1
I don´t understand if you have studious when you draw this extra card and if you mulligan it or not. The card refers to the beginning the game but you draw your opening hand during setup and after the setup ends the game starts. So you begin the game and draw an extra card afterwards or you draw it and mulligan it during setup? The wording is not clear to us. — Rado Gaman · 2
The wording could be more clear, but if that were the case I'd have expected a rules clarification, since the dominant presumption is that it would take effect during setup step 8. It's when you draw your opening hand, and it's the only part of the rules that formally details the process of drawing your opening hand. I can't imagine that's not the intended timing point. — MiskatonicFrosh · 344
I agree with @MiskatonicFrosh. Card states "opening hand" and you are given 1 chance to draw your opening hand in game. — Makaramus · 10
This card does not say "during setup when you draw an opening hand, draw one additional card" this means you cannot do a mulligan which is performed during setup step 8 — Rado Gaman · 2
Mk 1 Grenades

As a "weapon" that does not occupy any slot, It's a good secondary to kill critters, while saving ammo on your big guns. Albeit at the risk of hurting other players, but there are ways around that.

Avoiding damage to other players

Combos

Side question, how does Hatchet Man interact with this card? Is the extra damage dealt to the attacked enemy or the target of Hatchet Man?

Django · 5171
Hatchet Man only deals the damage, if you throw the grenade at the evaded enemy (the others arent attacked) — Adny · 1
Hatchet man says "the next time the evaded enemy takes damage this turn, deal it 1 additional damage", so it doesn't care about who is attacked. My question is wether that part of Hatched man takes precedence over the grenades part in brackets "any additional damage..." or not. — Django · 5171
I misread the card... The additional damage on the grenades cares about the damage, that i added to the attack, like Vicious Blow or Marksmanship. Hatchet Man triggers on damage being dealt, so it still hits the evaded enemy — Adny · 1
I agree, I take it to read as any target-unspecified additional damage. It's italic so it's clarifying text, not a new rule. — pneuma08 · 26
Marksmanship requires a firearm — Chitinid · 14
Never mind, it works with ranged — Chitinid · 14
Chen Li can also selling some explosive Kung Fu moves with these beauties... — Quantallar · 8
This is such a weird (albeit 6 year old) review. "Avoiding damage to other players when using grenades" -> "Don't use grenades" ?! Or do a convoluted (and completely pointless) combo with teamwork and armor of ardennes just so you can blast them with grenades? — flamebreak · 33
Dayana Esperence

There are so many great spell events to choose from. Deny Existence Drawn to the Flame, Uncage the Soul, etc. Since she works on secrets you can use Truth from Fiction to increase her uses. I think she would be fun to build around.

Calprinicus · 6424
Sefina cannot take Dayana because it is a level 3 mystic card. — Cyiel · 1
*facepalm* thanks for the correction. — Calprinicus · 6424
Uncage the Soul is not a Spell event so it can not be attached to Dayana — MrGiblets · 1
Also Drawn to the Flame as well — MrGiblets · 1
Too bad you can't attach Truth from fiction to her. Would be great to fuel other "secret" based cards, like Rook. — Django · 5171
"I've got a plan!"

This card is pretty cool because it is a seeker card that actually lets a seeker fight for real, landing a gigantic blow that can defeat a 4-health monster in a single action.

However, this card is very, very undependable. Unlike Mind over Matter, you absolutely cannot expect this card will be usable when you need it. It isn’t a big deal for most seekers to pick up 3 clues when they are available. Unfortunately, most scenarios don’t let you keep those clues, they force you to spend them in order to move to the next Act. So you can’t use this card at the start of the mission, you can’t use it right after advancing to the next Act, you can’t use it when you are still trying to find the place where the clues are located or otherwise busy dealing with something before you can collect clues, you can’t use it when the Act requires you to spend clues a few at a time as soon as you collect them, and you can’t use it during the many Acts that don’t involve collecting clues at all. And when you do have a lot of clues, it is not uncommon that you are on a roll collecting clues and would rather collect more and end the Act, rather than go off and fight a monster. There are definitely plenty of times you can use this card, but a lot more when you can’t.

On top of that, the card is quite expensive for a one-shot event and you need to be willing and able to spend the money on it. And while you hope you have enough Lore and other cards to hit the target, that may not always be the case, especially if your base Lore isn’t 5. And it could be embarassing if you miss since you likely have no other fighting abilities.

To summarize, this isn’t really a self-defense card that you can hold in your hand and rely on to get you out of trouble. It is more of an extra card you throw into your deck so you can occasionally do something awesome.

ChristopherA · 114
As with all combat events, in case you draw an auto fail, you might be out of options to deal with the enemy. So combat events are generally very risky. — Django · 5171
Well thought out ChristopherA — Barrenjoey · 1
Lore? interesting, Frodo. Good review though. — jmmeye3 · 633
Now that Occult Invocation exists, this one (and its upgrade) is firmly relegated to the binder. — suika · 9523
Duke

Duke is a good dog. No body is going to kill my Duke! Duke and Guard Dog are friends, and I have two dogs! Don't put any damage on Duke or Guard dog on my watch! They are good doggies. They are very brave. I love Duke!

nimonus · 33
I love Duke! — nimonus · 33
Run Stray Cat so he has more furry friends to play with! — StyxTBeuford · 13053
Duke is housebroken. Also, he is a good dog. And he drove Yog Sothoth to another plane of reality! Duke is a hero and a certified therapy dog for Pete! Don't let anyone tell you Duke can't get on the Essex County Express!! — nimonus · 33
Use Calling In Favors to heal up Duke, then play him. Duke never gets to be played so he'll be extra happy. — CHA · 10