Time Warp

As the FAQ say, the game state is not "exactly reset", since Time Warp itself is not reset. However, the cost in ressources of Time walk should be reset, making it technically free.

(Though you can't use it if you don't have any ressources)

Another interesting fact is that if it cannot prevent an investigator from killing itself (FAQ: a defeated investigator is no longer in your location), it can prevent an investigator from accidentally killing another one (for example by missing an attack, or by using Delve too Deep)

An important restriction is that you have to wait the end of the action. Which means that you can Time Warp in the middle of the resolution of Delve too Deep, etc ...

Anyway, this card is probably very strong in high difficulty, where the chaos bag has a lot of variance. And it will be quite fun to use.

MoiMagnus · 63
Add another card to the troll decklist... — CecilAlucardX · 10
I'm pretty sure it still costs 1; paying its cost occurs after the action you reset, and is therefore not in the card's effect. — SGPrometheus · 856
Using this card to Delve Too Deep safely is a great thought. Often towards the end of the scenario you're hoping to Delve, but worried about one or two encounter cards that could be fatal. Time Warp in hand would totally eliminate that risk. — CaiusDrewart · 3210
@SGPrometheus Paying cost occurs AFTER the action to be reset but BEFORE Time Warp resolves. This creates a timeline of Initial State > Relevant Action > Pay Cost > Resolve Time Warp. Thus when you reset to the Initial State, you go back to the amount of resources you had then - effectively recovering the paid resource. — Death by Chocolate · 1504
To anyone reading this recently, the card was eratta'd since my last post, so it no longer recovers the cost. — Death by Chocolate · 1504
Does this trigger Dianas abillity? — Doomwing · 1
@Doomwing im also looking for that answer — arvendor · 27
No, it would have to say cancel or ignore on it, this is an "undo". — Zerogrim · 298
The Man in the Pallid Mask

Not a review, more FAQ. Anwser from Matt Newman: Corpse Dweller will discard The Man in the Pallid Mask, since he is a humanoid enemy. Note that this does not count as ‘defeating’ the Man in the Pallid Mask for the purposes of chasing the stranger though.

Time Warp

"It's just a jump to the left

And then a step to the right

With your hands on your hips

You bring your knees in tight

But it's the pelvic thrust

That really drives you insane

Let's do the Time Warp again

Let's do the Time Warp again"

- The Rocky Horror Picture Show

(Someone had to post it...)

AndyB · 958
Calling in Favors

Looking to use this in a Lola Barns deck, but I am not sure how it interacts with her role restriction.

Question: Can Lola Barns play a non-neutral ally that does not match her current role using Calling in Favors?

Daerthalus · 16
Lola's card restriction prevents her from playing cards that do not match her role. Calling in Favors lets you "search your deck for an Ally and play it". That's a pretty clear interaction to me. — pneuma08 · 26
Any card that says "put into play" works with lola regardless of class (like flare), but cards that say "play" do not. — crayne · 4
Jenny Hayes cant do that. — aramhorror · 700
"I'll see you in hell!"

Should you take trauma to defeat non-elite enemies? Probably not. As a Guardian you will very rarely need to take such drastic measures to defeat these kinds of enemies. Every once in a blue moon you'll be caught in a gigantic swarm of enemies, and maybe playing this would help your teammates win a scenario. But that's incredibly rare. The vast majority of this time, this event is not going to help the team win. And remember that many scenarios impose really nasty penalties on defeated investigators, which can make playing this event even more dangerous than it first appears. The physical trauma might not be the full extent of the punishment you take for activating this event.

So what's the point of this card? I see two possible upsides. First, it has two Combat icons, which is generally what Guardians most want to see. I wouldn't run this over Overpower or Unexpected Courage, both of which offer extra perks that are a heck of a lot more useful than I'll see you in hell!'s event, but Guardians who are looking to hit more reliably (probably on higher levels) could run this in addition. I think the Guardian card pool is deep enough that you can probably do better, but still, there are worse things to have in your deck than a cheap +2 bonus to one Combat check.

The second way you could possibly use this card is to avoid mental trauma. Guardians tend to have a lot of health and not very much sanity, so they greatly prefer physical over mental trauma. So, theoretically, you could play this card if you think you're about to die from sanity loss, and instead take the more desirable trauma type (perhaps taking out an enemy or two in the bargain.) This is a cute idea, but I think in practice you would almost always be better off just taking more horror healing cards if you're that worried about mental trauma.

All in all, I don't think this card is all that useful as things currently stand. Its theme is pretty cool, though.

CaiusDrewart · 3210
Perhaps, in situations where you are going to get defeated anyway, it might be worth having at least one of - just to sell your hide as expensively as you can. — H0tl1ne · 83
There is at least one scenario where a lot of enemies can suddenly spawn in one location, depending on how you performed in the previous scenario... — Goodlake · 37
I'm considering including this in a Calvin Wright deck as an alternative to Overpower. Yes, you lose the card draw which will almost always be more useful but Calvin is one of the few investigators who doesn't mind starting with trauma. — franzel · 22