Transfiguration

I have a few questions about this card:

1) When an investigator like Sefina, Diana, or Barnaby becomes Amanda, which card is committed to each test? Are the cards beneath Sefina considered separate from Amanda’s?

2) If Sefina becomes someone like Diana, do effects that reference "cards beneath Sefina" (e.g., from The Painted World) still apply?

3) When Sefina becomes Diana, do Diana’s effects that add cards beneath her apply on top of those already under Sefina? Does the +1 Willpower bonus apply to all cards beneath?

4) When transforming into Ashcan Pete or Preston Fairmont, what happens to their signature cards? Does Duke enter play upon the change? Does Family Inheritance come into play?

Antilope · 1
It's mind-boggling to me that this expansion came with an FAQ, asking super self-explanatory questions like "Does a skill card have an even or odd cost?" and not ONE question about this card, which literally breaks the fabric of this game. — MaleficMarby · 31
Well said. 1) Dunno, still the weirdest edge case. 2) Yes. 3) Yes. 4) No. — AlderSign · 424
I don’t know how confident we can be about #4. They have explicitly (and bizarrely) ruled that 1p copies of On The Mend enter your bonded region when you become Vincent Lee. What is the principle by which you gain those but don’t gain other signatures? — Eudaimonea · 6
Are you talking about Transfiguring into Vincent? Because that ruling makes no sense, since only the front side of the investigator card is replaced (and starting with On the Mend is stated on the back). Would be happy about a source, though. For Pete I see it as clear, because the game has already begun by the time you Transfigure. Unless you interpret the wording "you begin the game..." independent from the game having begun, the same holds true for Family Inheritance, as the permanent keyword has a very similar wording. Even more important, the front of Preston does never instruct you to put it into play, so although it mentions it is in this situation nowhere else stated what a "Family Inheritance" is. — AlderSign · 424
Yes, that's the ruling I'm talking about. It certainly makes no sense. You can find it in the podcast spoiling Transfiguration. It was an official ruling from FFG: https://therestrictedcollection.podbean.com/e/ah020-spoilers-from-the-drowned-city/. — Eudaimonea · 6
Thank you! — AlderSign · 424
Magnifying Glass

This becomes really good with Kate Winthrop if you plan to do actions on an empty location. Having always a +4 bonus on any test if you got 2 magnifying glass is really awesome. A must in my opinion.

arvendor · 27
You drop the clues when you put'em back in your hand. — MrGoldbee · 1497
Task Force

Just want to point out that.

A) Playing this provokes an attack, so be careful with that. B) The "actions" on this aren't actions, so they dont provoke attacks.

This opens the door to be using assets that would normally put you in jeopardy or moving enemies around. For example if somebody else has an enemy, you can move the player and an engaged foe goes with them, which might have a variety of uses.

This card picks up a LOT of steam in a bigger group and at higher level, where more and more players are toting bigger effects on better and better cards, not to mention that higher level characters can pull off bigger and bigger stunts.

All of that said, I think this card could have used "Does not provoke" as part of it's text, simply as a means to be useful when all the enemies are on you.

Tsuruki23 · 2590
Baddies HATE a task force. — MrGoldbee · 1497
Obsidian Claw

This is easily the artifact that was most desired during my first Drowned City run. Everyone knows that Pathfinder is incredibly powerful - so what about a permanent Pathfinder that doesn't even have the unengaged requirement, and can move two spaces for good measure? Drag enemies around as you like, and be wherever you need to be!

Sure, the flip side is a little sad. The fight is of limited use. Finn Edwards or other Dirty Fighting users who can deal 2 damage with this. That still only puts this on par with 'okay' attacks, and most fighters have standard weapons that can be used more than once per turn for more consistent results.

But when you already have access to one of the stronger effects in the game, it doesn't matter if the 'bonus' effect is weak. The flip effect of this could not exist, and this would still see constant use - and if you happen to be on the path where you can get this on your second mission, it should be a priority objective to do so.

Ruduen · 1025
First Aid

It's possible that II Jenny Barnes has finally made this card halfway decent. Play it out as a reaction, costs 1, and can dump it for 2 resources as a fast action when supplies are gone. Now you've gone down to 2 actions for 2 heals and 1 resource. (Noted below you'll want to trigger after two uses so the card won't discard itself).

Time4Tiddy · 250
Keep in mind that First Aid does discard itself once it runs out of supplies, so not quite 3 damage but still worth picking up! — MaleficMarby · 31
Good point, thanks for the catch! Updating review. — Time4Tiddy · 250