Gift of Madness

Q: When no more set-aside Monster enemies left, can I trigger action ability on this card to discard?

RR "Target" says :

The term "choose" indicates that one or more targets must be chosen in order for an ability to resolve. The player resolving the ability must choose a game element (usually a card) that meets the targeting requirements of the ability.

If an ability requires the choosing of a target, and there is no valid target (or not enough valid targets), the ability cannot be initiated.

csfeelx · 1
However, discarding Gift of Madness from your hand can change the game state. So you can trigger the ability to discard this card, even if there are no set-aside enemies left. — toastsushi · 74
But, by the "Target" rules, ability cannot initiated when have no valid target. And ability means not partial sentence but entire sentences. So, isn't it right that I can't trigger action ability while first sentence has no valid target? — csfeelx · 1
The colon appears before "Randomly choose 1 enemy...." this means that it's not part of the cost to trigger this ability, only the spent action is a requirement. So you can trigger this ability by spending an action, then you fufill as much of the effect as possible. When there's no monsters left, you can still discard the card. You payed for the cost to trigger it and fufilled as much of the effect as you possibly could. — MaleficMarby · 31
Thanx. I understand that "ability requires..." belongs to "cost". If so, in a similar case, is there any problem using "You handle this one" just to get 1 resource when I'm playing Solo? (have no valid target, but the game state changes by get 1 resources.) — csfeelx · 1
Sometimes, we overlook "choose" but "choose" defines the target of the ability and it works as another requirement in AHLCG. As long as it states "choose 1 enemy ...", you need an valid target (=set aside enemy) to trigger this ability. One possiblility is that "randomly choose" is different from "choose" but... — elkeinkrad · 497
For example, I'm sure you agree that you can play Eavesdrop only if there is an unengaged enemy in your location. Here, undefined X is 0, which means that you test intellect (0) if no rule prevent you play Eavesdrop with no unengaged enemy. Similarly, you can play Followed only if there is an enemy in your location. — elkeinkrad · 497
@elkeinkrad. So you're saying we can not trigger this card's action capability when no more set-aside monster remain? — csfeelx · 1
@elkeinkrad You're right. I just checked the Lonnie Ritter's FAQ. According to that, an ability with "choose" must needs a valid target. So we can not trigger this card's action ability trigger when no more set-aside monster left. — csfeelx · 1
Lonnie's FAQ does not apply. The second part of the ability is the requirement of the target, therefore you cannot trigger it if no item has damage on it. On Gift of Madness, the second half is done regardless if there was a target or not. Otherwise, a part of the game will be unplayable and you will be driven insane. — toastsushi · 74
@toastsushi. I know. I find that part strange, and that's why I asked this question. However, according to the choose rule about Target mentioned in the Lonnie's FAQ, this card's action ability "cannot be triggered" when no more set-aside monster left. Is there any rules to judge differently? — csfeelx · 1
Lonnie's FAQ particularly emphasized about "choose" rule. And "Ability" means not a one sentence, but the whole sentence. I also think it's unreasonable, but, by the book, isn't it right that we can not? Maybe the designer made a mistake, or want to drive someone insane. — csfeelx · 1
I beat this with Nephthys, luckily. — MrGoldbee · 1493
Azure Flame

This card has an unexpected synergy for an investigator who came out years earlier. Jim Culver, musician, can use this spell to great effect. His power lets him to treat the elder sign as a skull, and skulls as +0. But that’s different than the token.

So when Jim puts Flame into play, he’s only afraid if he draws an actual zero (on hard or expert, there aren’t any +1s in the bag.)

This makes it much better for him than shriveling, which can trigger off during a skull token even if it counts as a zero.

MrGoldbee · 1493
He also has pretty even health/sanity, as i recall. This also lets you focus your trumpet heals on encounter horror and horror from clairvoyance. — SGPrometheus · 847
I wouldn't call it a synergy, really, because Jim treats Azure Flame just as well as any other investigator. His power doesn't really interact with it. — DjMiniboss · 44
His elder sign does — MrGoldbee · 1493
That's fair enough, I just don't feel like it's particularly good for Jim. That's one token out of at least sixteen. — DjMiniboss · 44
There are not that many tokens, where "Azure Flame" (or the other Jaqueline spells) will hurt. In that regard, Jim has a significant lower chance of taking the blow, in Expert even better then Easy. — Susumu · 381
Take for exampte the NotZ bag. The Elder Sign is regarding these spells 1 out of 6 "bad" tokens on easy, 1 out of 4 on standard or hard and even only 1 out of 2 on expert. — Susumu · 381
Law of 'Ygiroth

LivefromBenefitSt's review of the first Law of this set pretty much sums up why this might be the most annoying Treacheries in the game.

Fun fact for this particular card is that, if I'm not mistaken, this is the first instance of an effect that fundamentally changes the game depending on the language you are playing (card titles differ in word length in different languages). So for example Look what I found! is playable while you hold Pandemonium and can be discarded to get rid of it if you are playing the game in English; while it's the opposite (dead card in hand) if you are playing in Spanish ("¡Mira lo que he encontrado!").

bnvt · 6
I wonder if the design team did any kind of analysis of the balance of odd- and even-word card titles, and, if so, if they took the multiple languages into account.... — LivefromBenefitSt · 1085
Bob Jenkins

(If you've seen The Music Man, proceed. If not, have a look here first: youtu.be )

+++

CASH for the Lucky Dice, CASH for the Rabbit’s Foot.

CASH for the Leather Coats, CASH for the Trench Coats.

CASH for the Fancy Goods, CASH for the Track Shoes.

CASH for the Tokens and the Totems and the Moonstones.

CASH for the Thermos, Pipes and Painkillers.

CASH for the Shovels and the Lanterns and the Newspapers.

Look, howdoyafight, howdoyafight, howdoyafight, howdoyafight, howdoyafight? HOWDOYACLUEVER? Howdoyafight?

Ya can Move, ya can Draw, ya can Parlay, ya can Fight,

Ya can Cluever, Cluever, Cluever, ya can Fight, ya can Fight,

Ya can Move, Draw, Play, Fight, Cluever, Cluever, Cluever,

Ya can Fight all ya wanna but it’s different than it was!

No it ain't, no it ain't, but you gotta know yer inventory!

~Shh shh shh shh shh shh shh~

Why it's the Axe / Horse combo made the trouble,

Made Survivors wanna blow, wanna get, wanna get, wanna get up and blow

Seven, eight, nine, ten, twelve, fourteen, twenty-two, twenty-three cash on any fight they meet!

Yes sir, yes sir!

Who's gonna draw and play a little batty two-hand break-onna-skull anymore?

Howdoyafight, howdoyafight? HOWDOYACLUEVER?

Gone, gone, gone with the Thermos, Pipes and Painkillers.

Gone with the Derringers, the .41, the .18.

Gone with the Signs and the Knives and the Vests.

Ever meet a fellow by the name of Bob?

...Bob?

............Bob?

..Bob?

........Bob?

.....Bob?

..................Bob?

..........................Bob?

Bob!

NO.

Just a minute, just a minute, just a minute!

Never heard of any salesman Bob.

Well he knows what’s in your inventory!

Knows what’s in my inventory?!

What's his stat line?

Never worries 'bout his line!

Never worries 'bout his line?!

Or a doggone thing!

He's just an all-in, neck-wringing, dumb luck, hard knocks, double-nothing, high-rollin’,

Turns-into-a-great rogue salesman!

That's Mister Bob Jenkins, Bob Jenkins!

What's the fellow's line? What's his line?

He's a fake, and he shouldn't know your inventory!

Look, howdoyafight, howdoyafight, howdoyafight, howdoyafight?

He's a Shrewd-Deals man!

He's a what? He's a what?

He's a Shrewd-Deals man and he sells Catalogues

To the ‘gators in the town with the big Thompsons

And the rat-a-tat guns. Cigarette case, cigarette case!

And the Lupara, the Lupara, and pocket-Colt, too!

With a shiny gold pock-et-watch for yer big red glove-wearin'-

Weeell, I don't know what’s in yer hand but I do know

You can't make a living playin’ other people’s cards, no sir.

“You owe me one”, perhaps, and here and there a Teamwork-

No, the fellow plays hands. YOUR hands! I don't know how he does it!

But he lives like a king! And he dallies and he cluevers and he picks and he shines.

And with a transaction, certainly, boys, what else? The gator pays him!

Yes sir! Yes sir! Yes sir! Yes sir!

With a transaction, certainly boys, what else?

The gator pays him!

Yessssir. Yessssir.

BUT HE’LL KNOW WHAT’S IN MY INVENTORY!

HanoverFist · 755
This is incredible. Absolutely top notch stuff. — supertoasty · 40
thank you! I figured there's likely 4 people at best in the universe who'd recognize it, but hey, in for a penny... — HanoverFist · 755
"Gentlemen, you intrigue me. I believe I'll have to give Antarctica a try." — Voltgloss · 391
So what the heck. Yer welcome! Glad to have ya with us! (Eeeeven tho you'll likely never be heard from again!) Ya really ought ta give Antarcticaaa a tryyyyy! — HanoverFist · 755
Can i use extra actions to play a fast item card? — LDWZ · 1
LDZW: Assuming you mean "out of another player's hand", the consensus seems to be "no". You're granted an additional action, and this action is exceptional from others in that it may only be used to play out of other's hands (something you normally can't do). So a playable item that requires an action to be played is necessary. Anything else you could do during that action- such as fast or reaction effects- is unaffected, and therefore you can only do fast/reaction effects you could normally do during an action. Weird, huh? Bob can buy a Lightning Gun for his friends, but not a Leather Jacket! — HanoverFist · 755
Oh we got trouble, right here in Arkham city! That's trouble with a capital T my friends, that's trouble with a capital T, and that rhymes with C and that stands for C'thulhu! — Fenris49 · 1
Gotta figure out a way to stop the Old Ones raising all these ghouls! — HanoverFist · 755
I wish people would explain things plainly and clear instead of these gimmick answers. This game has already enough going on without the need for added confusion. — syntheticproduct · 1
Once in a while I come back to this, put the song on, and sing along. It's a testament to the effort you put it into it that it works. — Jigurd · 8
I mean this sincerely: thank you. I did actually take an unreasonable amount of time getting the syllables & accents to match, and hearing it landed for anybody just made my day.. — HanoverFist · 755
I have both been introduced to a cool song I've never heard before, and quite possibly the best review of anything I've ever read, ever. It's contextually fitting, well written, and genuinely informative about cards I could play with Bob. — Marymatician · 128
Three years later and this still rules. — MrGoldbee · 1493
Restricted Access

This is a question as opposed to a review: suppose an investigator controlled the custodian and then lost control of it in Act 3a. Then for the purpose of Act 2b (and the scenario resolution), is it true that the investigator "has performed" the "An investigator controls the Custodian?"

To be clear, I think this is different from Act 2a, where it states "if three of the following are true..." and when you lose control, it is no longer true that you "have control". However, given the way the game resolves the number of tasks in the resolution of the scenario, it seems it expects the number of tasks you have "performed by the time the scenario ends" (as opposed to, say "to be true by the time the scenario ends") to be definitely between 3 and 6, and you can get into a state where you only have 2 tasks (by doing the Custodian and 2 other tasks, then losing the custodian), which is not given a consequence in the resolution.

krzhang · 7
You'd have to control the custodian at time of resolution; the text isn't in quotes so it's not asking you to remember something, it's just looking at the game state. It should say, roughly, "the more of the following that are true, the better..." but it seems to have slipped under QA's nets. — SGPrometheus · 847
I agree with SGPrometheus; you need control when all payers reach the “resign” condition. — LivefromBenefitSt · 1085
That seems to be right to me as well but like the OP said , it does create a new hole in the rules in the resolution. If you advance from Act 2a to 2b with control of the Custodian and two other things , lose control of the Custodian in Act 3 and don't complete any other tasks by the time you resign then you end up with 2 tasks completed in the resolution and no instructions for what to do. And yeah, I also kinda think that suggests the intent was for it not to be possible to "un-do" the tasks....Might be worth asking over — bee123 · 31
I'd just go for the 3 tasks completed bullet; it doesn't get much worse than that anyway :p — SGPrometheus · 847
hehe I do agree with that! I still hold that if we are going to take cards to their word though, we would incentivize minmax players to go for the 2 tasks instead of the 3 to dodge a ‘ — krzhang · 7
(argh misclick) “better” outcome, so an errata would be nice. — krzhang · 7